If you are a regular iLearn (Moodle) user, now is a good time to do a little tidying up of your course(s). Now that school is out of session and grades have already been recorded, we recommend you “Reset” your course.

Resetting your course may sound alarming, but this feature of Moodle simply allows you to remove the enrolled students and their data, while preserving all of your materials. And, thanks to Chris Kenniburg, the default settings allow you to do this with a few clicks.

Here’s how:

  1. Log in to your course.
  2. Click the Course Management button (3 gears, top left).
  3. Under Course settings, click Reset.
  4. On the next page, scroll to the bottom and click Select default. This will select all of the items that you would need to reset in order to begin a new semester.
  5. Scroll down once again and click Reset course.

That’s it! Your course is now ready to enroll a new set of students and your activities and resources are all set to facilitate student learning for years to come.

Skip to toolbar